Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Careers in Visual/Performing Arts - Books
Act Like It's Your Business by
Call Number: PN2055 .F58 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Many actors treat their profession as a purely artistic endeavor, rarely conceding that there is more to making a living than simply showing up on stage or in front of a camera. By refusing to seriously acknowledge that self-promotion is vital to their livelihoods, many performers can get quickly discouraged by the vicious circle of audition and rejection. However, with a little foresight and planning, actors can learn how to become their own best advocates for a career in the business of show. Structured logically and step by step, this accessible guide will become the standard for nearly anyone hoping to build an enduring career in the performing arts.
Art Inc. by
Call Number: N8350 .C58 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-12
You don't have to starve to be an artist. Build a career doing what you love. In this practical guide, professional artist Lisa Congdon reveals the many ways you can earn a living by making art--through illustration, licensing, fine art sales, print sales, teaching, and beyond. Art, Inc. will equip you with the tools--and the confidence--to turn your passion into a profitable business.
The Artist's Compass by
Call Number: PN1580 .M55 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-03
The Artist's Compass teaches aspiring performers how to think like an entrepreneur to create their own brand and marketing platform to achieve personal and professional success. In an engaging, realistic, and authoritative voice, Moore combines her artistic and corporate experience to address the finer points of building a career in a challenging industry, teaching young performers how to achieve financial independence so that they might have creative independence.
Becoming a Graphic Designer by
Call Number: NC1001 .H45 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Offers profiles of major industries, coverage of careers in exhibition design and illustration, and new focus on designing across disciplines. Fully updated to include information on the latest trends in evolving design disciplines. New coverage of digital editorial design, information design,packaging design, design management, and entrepreneurship.
Beyond Sound: The College and Career Guide in Music Technology by
Call Number: ML3795 .P426 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
Provides practical guidance on career preparation, including how to get a great internship, how to land that first job, and how to make connections and move up in the business. Music technology jobs in recording, live sound, television and film, digital media, video games, retail sales, and education are described in great depth and clarity.
The Career Guide for Creative and Unconventional People, Fourth Edition by
Call Number: HF5381 .E485 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
A practical career guide for creatively inclined job seekers, with tips and counsel on how to use your independent and innovative talents and passions to make money, express yourself, and find a job you love. This new edition has been updated to reflect the freedom offered by the new work order, delve more deeply into freelancing as a career, provide new success stories, and bring all salary information up to date. It also includes descriptions of more than 270 creative jobs, from the mainstream (architect, web designer) to the unexpected (crossword-puzzle maker, police sketch artist).
The Future of the Music Business by
Call Number: ML3790 .G67 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
New technologies are revolutionizing the music business. While these changes may be smashing traditional business models and creating havoc among the major record companies, they are also providing new opportunities for unsigned artists, independent labels, and music business entrepreneurs. The Future of the Music Business provides a legal and business road map for success in today's music business by setting forth a comprehensive summary of the rules pertaining to the traditional music business, including music licensing, as well as the laws governing online distribution of music and video.
Theater Careers by
Call Number: PN2074 .D66 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Theater Careers is designed to empower aspiring theater professionals to make savvy, informed decisions through a concise overview of how to prepare for and find work in the theater business. Tim Donahue and Jim Patterson offer well-researched information on various professions, salary ranges, educational and experience requirements, and other facets certain to enlighten students contemplating a theater career, as well as inform counselors, teachers, and parents of available opportunities and the demands of each path.
The Actor's Business Plan by
Publication Date: 2015-10-22
The Actor's Business Plan is a self-directed practical guide for actors graduating from formal training programs, as well as for those already in the business whose careers need to move ahead more successfully. Using the familiar language of acting training, the book offers a method for the achievement of dreams through a five-year life and career plan giving positive steps to develop a happy life as an actor and as a person.
Careers in Visual/Performing Arts - e-Books
Becoming an Art Therapist by
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
This is not a "how-to" book but rather about the "experience" of becoming an art therapist. The text covers issues in supervision and mentorship, contains stories by art therapy students about what they are thinking and feeling, and letters to young art therapists by highly regarded professionals in the field. The reader has the advantage of ideas and responses from both a student art therapist and an art therapist with many years' experience and is clearly intended for students aiming for a career.
Field Guides to Finding a New Career: Film and Television by
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Provides a brief overview of this exciting industry as well as the tools necessary to transition into a career in film and television. Careers profiled include: Agent, Camera technician, Director, Editor, Location scout, Producer, Script consultant ,Visual effects artist, Wardrobe specialist, Writer.
How to Be an Illustrator by
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
This book offers practical help and guidance to aspiring illustrators. All areas of the job are covered - how to create a portfolio; the most effective ways to approach would-be clients; how to prepare for meetings and negotiate contracts; and how to handle, deliver, and bill a job. There is advice on how to avoid the pitfalls that can undermine crucial first impressions; how to set up a studio; and how to maintain a flow of work and manage one's time and cash. Success in self-promotion, creating websites, self-publishing, and the pros and cons of agents are all explored.
Arts and Entertainment by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Presents a guide to help you examine job possibilities while on your way to a new career in the food and arts and entertainment industry.
Careers in Visual/Performing Arts - websites