Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services for Faculty

Why is linking necessary?

Library databases differ from ordinary websites since access is restricted to Los Rios subscription:

  • Databases provide permanent links to individual records, but these links are usually not seen in the browser address bar -- you will need to look for them.
  • Access to articles from off campus requires a special link that prompts users to login with their Los Rios ID and unified password.

It's easy to grab links that won't work. Use this guide to help get the links you need.

Individual Databases

Links available on the Library Databases page can be used by on-campus and off-campus users. Please use these URLs to guide students to the appropriate resources.  

Instructions for popular browsers below:

  • Chrome: Right-click Link > Copy Link Address
  • Firefox: Right-click Link > Copy Link Location
  • Safari: Right-click Link > Copy Link
  • Internet Explorer: Right-click Link > Copy Shortcut

OneSearch Search Results

Share All Results

If you want to share all the results of a search in OneSearch, simply use the link that appears in your browser's address bar. All your search terms and facets are included in the URL.

For example, here's a search for the War of 1812, limited to items physically in the library.

Share a Physical Item

If you want to share the link to a specific item found in OneSearch, first click the item's title. Then click Permalink to retrieve the unique link to that item.

A screenshot of an item record in OneSearch. The record shows the book cover at the top left, followed by the title, author, and location of the book. Below, the button for Permalink has been clicked and a unique URL for this item is shown.

 

Share an Article or eBook

There are two ways to share an electronic item found in OneSearch.

  1. The first method is the same as sharing a physical item. First click on the title, then click on Permalink to retrieve the unique link to the record. Note that this link is to the item as it appears in OneSearch, not the full text of the item itself.
  2. The second method is to link to the full text of the item itself. To do this, the first step is still to click the title of the item. Then click the link displayed in the View Online section.

    A screenshot of an item record in OneSearch. The record shows the book cover at the top left, followed by the title, author, and location of the book. Below is a Send To section. Below that is the View Online section with a link to the full text of the item.

    After clicking that link, you should be taken to the full text of the item. Look for Permalink, Stable URLBookmark, Record URL or something similar. If the database includes a citation tool, you can often locate a permalink by generating the citation. This is the link you will use for sharing. (Do not use the link that appears in your browser's address bar. This link will not work after your search session has ended.)

 

Non-OneSearch Articles & Videos

When viewing content in databases outside of OneSearch, look for Permalink, Stable URLBookmark, Record URL or something similar. If the database includes a citation tool, you can often locate a permalink by generating the citation.

If no Permalink, Stable URL, Bookmark, or Record URL is available, you can generally use the URL found in your browser's address bar. If the link contains the Los Rios proxy, the link will be easily accessed by both on-campus and off-campus users.

You can check for the Los Rios proxy by identifying the highlighted component in any URL:

https://ezproxy.losrios.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip%2Cuid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h


Films on Demand

First click the Share button below the video.

Then click Link to retrieve the unique video link.

Learn more about custom linking and embedding videos at CRC's guide about films