Political Science 301 - Introduction to Government: United States (Reese)

In nearly 275 entries, this 3-vol. set examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. A great addition to collections in needof resources on government, civics, citizenship, history and the law.

Much of the controversy and debate in modern American life revolves around such public policy issues as abortion, gun control, health care, and immigration. Governing America is a new, three-volume collection of essays designed to give readers the complete story behind the major policy issues of the 21st century. This comprehensive resource takes a unique perspective on public policy issues and presents them in historical context. Controversial issues along with the history of the U.S. government's involvement in these debates are examined in great detail by experts in the field. Coverage includes: Abortion Affirmative action Banking Capital punishment Consumer product safety Domestic violence Drugs Gay rights Global climate change Gun control Health care Homeland security Immigration and citizenship Religion Renewable energy Taxation and more.

An unparalleled compilation spanning the entire history of America and its people The Facts On File "Encyclopedia of American History is designed as a comprehensive and authoritative reference to the most important individuals

A new reference resource that combines unique historical analysis, scholarly essays, and primary source documents to explore the evolution of ideas and institutions that have shaped American government and Americans' political behavior.

The history of the American labor movement is filled with advances, triumphs, setbacks, decline, and resurgence. This two-volume A-Z resource covers the history of organized labor in all of its complexity, from the dawn of the industrial revolution to the "post-industrial age."

From abolition and woman suffrage, to civil rights and the minimum wage, to the campaigns for clean air and clean water, struggles to mobilize groups to improve society and promote justice are among the enduring themes of American history. Whether one is studying economics, labor, government, politics, current events, or global issues, it is impossible to understand the nineteenth and twentieth centuries without understanding the role of social movements in the United States. This four-volume set examines every significant social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures. The set also examines the interrelationships among different movements, and how they shaped American politics, culture, and society. Written for readers at all levels, and geared directly to the high school social studies curriculum, Encyclopedia of American Social Movements provides biographical portraits of all the key figures and leaders of the nation's social movements and also includes a wide variety of original documents.