Research Guides: General Research Guide: Find Books and Articles

OneSearch (Library Catalog)

Research Databases

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journals, professional journals, reports and magazines in the social sciences, the humanities, and general sciences.
CQ Researcher
In-depth reports on current social and political issues.
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, education and other fields.

Research Databases - Los Rios Libraries (All)
Browse databases by subject or title.

What is a library research database?

Library research databases contain information from published works, such as magazines, newspapers, and journals. There are different kinds of research databases. Some are for specific topics, such as medicine or history, and others cover a wide variety of topics. A database often contains full-text articles, which means you can can print, email, or save entire articles.

Books

Books typically provide extensive coverage on one topic or theme. Subject-specific reference books can provide you with background information as well as the historical context of your topic.

Circulating Books may be checked out for use outside the library.
Electronic Books (ebooks) are always available and may be viewed on any computer with an internet connection, on or off campus.
Reference Books are available for use in the library, but not for checkout.

Write down the call number of the print books in your search results to help you locate the books on the shelf, and to give you an idea of where to browse for similar titles.

Articles

Distance Education Resource Guide: Types of Articles
This page from CRC's "Distance Education Resource Guide" goes into even more depth about types of articles, how to identify the different types, and how to read academic journal articles.

Articles published in periodicals (journals, newspapers, and magazines) can provide a narrower focus or perspective on specific aspects of your topic. It is useful to understand the purpose, authority, and identifying features of different types of periodicals.

Journals

Report original research and criticism
Published by professional associations to benefit those working in the field or discipline
Many articles are reviewed by other experts in the subject area (peer-review)
Articles are often lengthy and provide citations

Visit OneSearch to browse our entire collection of journals.

Newspapers

Focus on current events and news
Not usually considered scholarly or professional, but may be only source of information on very new topics

Magazines

Focus on popular or current topics
Articles are often shorter and written for a general audience
Typically written by journalists