Find Books - Biology 440/442 - Microbiology (Abraham) - Research Guides at Folsom Lake College

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Ebooks

Background information from general and subject encyclopedias.
Ebook Collection

Ebooks on social sciences, information technology, the humanities, business, economics, and more.

NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. (National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is part of the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM), a branch of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Selected Medical Reference Books - Print

Medical Microbiology* by Patrick R. Murray; Ken S. Rosenthal; Michael A. Pfaller
Call Number: Ref QR46 .M4683 2016

ISBN: 9780323299565

Publication Date: 2016

Discussions explain how microbes cause disease in humans and review updated vaccines and new antibiotics available to treat these diseases.
*Featured in class
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twentieth Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by Stephen L. Hauser; Dan L. Longo; Joseph Loscalzo; J. Larry Jameson; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper
Call Number: Ref RC46 .H333 2018

ISBN: 9781259644030

Publication Date: 2018
Atlas of Human Infectious Diseases by Heiman F. L. Wertheim (Editor); John P. Woodall (Editor); Peter Horby (Editor)
Call Number: Ref RC113.2 .A85 2012

ISBN: 9781405184403

Publication Date: 2012

Contains more than 145 high quality full-color maps covering all major human infectious diseases.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine* by Lee Goldman; Andrew I. Schafer
Call Number: Ref RC46 .C423 2016

ISBN: 9781455750177

Publication Date: 2016

Detailed overview of most diseases and disorders. Summaries include definition, epidemiology, pathogenesis, clinical features, and treatment/prevention.
Vaccines* by Stanley A. Plotkin; Walter A. Orenstein; Paul A. Offit
Call Number: Ref QR189 P56 2013

Publication Date: 2013

Comprehensive and current coverage of every aspect of vaccination, from the development of each vaccine to its use in reducing disease.
*Featured in class

Selected Medical Reference Books - Online (eBooks)

Salem Health: Infectious Diseases and Conditions, Second Edition by H. Bradford Hawley (Editor)
ISBN: 9781642650488

Publication Date: 2019

The set contains 650 essays on all aspects of infectious diseases, including pathogens and pathogenicity, transmission, the immune system, vaccines, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and social concerns such as bioterrorism.
The Gale encyclopedia of emerging diseases by Deirdre S. Blanchfield
ISBN: 9781410380784

Publication Date: 2018

Information on infectious diseases that have either lately appeared for the first time in a population or have recently rapidly increased in incidence such as Ebola, Lassa Fever, MERS, Rift Valley Fever, and Zika virus.
Infectious Diseases by Thomas J. Riggs
ISBN: 9781410381316

Publication Date: 2018

"A comprehensive guide to the topic of emerging and threatening diseases, particularly their relationships to world health issues, current events, and political decision-making"--
Magill's Medical Guide by Salem Press
ISBN: 9781682176313

Publication Date: 2018

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.
Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology by Richard A. Johnson; Thomas B. Fitzpatrick; Klaus Wolff; Richard Johnson; Johnson; Richard Allen Johnson
ISBN: 9780071599757

Publication Date: 2009

Combination of text, clinical reference and colour atlas. The illustrations provide examples of a variety of skin conditions.