Ethnic Studies 300 (Cheshire)

This expansive, four-volume ready-reference work offers critical coverage of contemporary issues that impact people of color in the United States.

This powerful two-volume set provides an insider's perspective on American Indian experiences through engaging narrative entries about key historical events written by leading scholars in American Indian history as well as inspiring first-person accounts from American Indian peoples. This comprehensive, two-volume resource on American Indian history covers events from the time of ancient Indian civilizations in North America to recent happenings in American Indian life in the 21st century, providing readers with an understanding of not only what happened to shape the American Indian experience but also how these events--some of which occurred long ago--continue to affect people's lives today.

A fresh compilation of essays and entries based on the latest research, this work documents African American culture and political activism from the slavery era through the 20th century.

Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia provides a thorough introduction to the wide-ranging and fast-developing field of Asian American studies. Published with the Association for Asian American Studies (AAAS), two volumes of the four-volume encyclopedia feature more than 300 A-to-Z articles authored by AAAS members and experts in the field who examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience.

With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Essential for scholarly and professional researchers as well as the classroom and library.

Racism has plagued the United States since its inception. The underside of American history is filled with the reality of racism--the decimation and removal of the Indians, slavery, Jim Crow, internment camps for Japanese Americans, the crime of driving while black, and border patrols, to name some examples. This set covers the period from colonial times until today and all the groups discriminated against at one time or another. More than 450 essay entries present key terms, organizations, movements, incidents, forums, texts, individuals, legislation, theories, and the like. Most entries contain suggestions for further reading. A timeline, photos, and a host of primary documents complement the entries.