Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
California State Archives
The California State Archives, a division of the Office of the Secretary of State, continues to serve in the spirit of those early instructions, providing a repository for the state's permanent governmental records as well as other materials documenting California history. The California State Archives serves a wide variety of researchers whose interests range from legislative intent and public policy to genealogy and railroad history in California.
Center for Sacramento History
The Center is the official repository for the archival, or non-current, records of the City and County of Sacramento; the preservation of these public documents is often required by state and federal law. The Center also maintains privately donated manuscripts and personal papers from individuals, businesses, and organizations in the community. The Center's museum collections are artifacts, or three-dimensional objects, which also document the lives and activities of the residents of the Sacramento region.
United States Census Bureau
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly. We are guided on this mission by scientific objectivity, our strong and capable workforce, our devotion to research-based innovation, and our abiding commitment to our customers.
This site is owned and maintained by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. It maintains the largest genealogical collection in the world—it is especially strong for the United States, British Isles, Scandinavia, Mexico, and parts of Germany, but also has material from all parts of the world. Includes civil vital births, marriages, and deaths, church records, county and local histories, court records, military records, probate records, American passenger arrival lists and naturalizations, and land records. Search over 150,000 digitized family histories and genealogies held by top-notch genealogy libraries, as well as genealogies submitted to the Family Search database.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
California State Library - California History Room
Anyone is welcome to visit the California History Room to use the resources. Appointments are not necessary. However, if you expect to be using a quantity of special materials, it can speed retrieval if you let us know ahead of time when you will visit and what you will want to see.
California Digital Library
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
American Historical Association
The American Historical Association (AHA) is the largest professional organization in the United States devoted to the study and promotion of history and historical thinking. Only the AHA brings together historians from all specializations and professions, embracing their breadth, variety, and ever-changing activity.
National Genealogical Society
To serve and grow the genealogical community by providing education and training, fostering increased quality and standards, and promoting access to and preservation of genealogical records.
California Historical Society
The CHS Collection represents the environmental, economic, social, political, and cultural heritage of the entire state, including materials from outside California that contribute to a greater understanding of the state and its people.
Founded in 1846, the Smithsonian is the world's largest museum and research complex, consisting of 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoological Park, and nine research facilities.
Sacramento History Museum
The goal of the Historic Old Sacramento Foundation is to realize the area’s potential as California’s hub of historic education and preservation. By offering engaging and authentic historic and cultural activities in Old Sacramento, the story of California’s beginnings can be preserved and shared in a way that truly brings history to life. The HOSF is committed to providing high quality educational programs and events for Sacramento residents and visitors alike.
Folsom History Museum
Welcome to the Folsom History Museum Web Site. The Museum is operated by the Folsom Historical Society, located in historic downtown Folsom. It is the home to a wonderful collection of artifacts and treasures that chronicle the settlement and development of the Folsom area. You'll see fascinating and educational exhibits throughout the year along with special events highlighting the Gold Rush era and Folsom's history.