Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Style Guide, 7th ed.

This guide provides tips and examples for APA style formatting of papers and citations.

Articles

Journal Article in Print

Examples

Kincaid, J. (2001, Spring). In history. Callaloo, 24(2), pp. 620-26.

Baron, N. S. (2013, January). Redefining reading: The impact of digital communication media. PMLA, 128(1), pp. 193-200.


Journal Article in a Database

Some publishers assign a digital object identifier (DOI) to online publications. Because URLs are sometimes not stable, it’s desirable to use the DOI if it is available. If no DOI is listed, try searching https://www.crossref.org/.

If the article has no DOI, do not include a URL or database information. The reference should be the same as the reference for a print version of the work.

Examples

Sajid, M., Tahira, P., Allah, D., Faisa, I., & Jaishri, M. (2014). Effectiveness of school-based intervention programs in reducing prevalence of overweight. Indian Journal of Community Medicine, 39(2), 87-93. https://doi.org/10.4103/0970-0218.132724.

Inskip, C. (2015, July/August). Making information literacy relevant In employment settings. Online Searcher, 39(4), 54-57.


Journal Article from a Website

Some publishers assign a digital object identifier (DOI) to online publications. Because URLs are sometimes not stable, it’s desirable to use the DOI if it is available. If no DOI is listed, try searching https://www.crossref.org/.

If the source does not have a DOI, cite the Web address for the source (URL).

Examples

Sajid, M., Tahira, P., Allah, D., Faisa, I., & Jaishri, M. (2014). Effectiveness of school-based intervention programs in reducing prevalence of overweight. Indian Journal of Community Medicine, 39(2), 87-93. https://doi.org/10.4103/0970-0218.132724

MacKean, P.R., Stewart, M., & Maddocks, H.L. (2016, August). Psychosocial diagnoses occurring after patients present with fatigue. Canadian Family Physician, 62(8), pp. e465–e472. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4982745/‚Äč


Newspaper Article in Print

Examples

MacDonald, C. (2016, September 14). School board approves boundaries for two elementary schools. Elk Grove Citizen, p. A5.

Kalb, L. (2016, September 21). Interim UCD Chancellor urges civility in dialogue. Sacramento Bee, p. 3A.


Newspaper Article in Database

If no DOI has been assigned to the content and you are accessing the source from a database, cite the source as though it were in print.

Example

Hakim, D., & Mcintire, M. (2019, August 7). Long, faltering search for federal legislation on background checks. New York Times, p. A17(L).


Newspaper Article on Website

News articles may be referenced differently depending on whether or not there is an associated newspaper with the same content. If there is an associated newspaper, cite the article following the rules for a print newspaper. Include a DOI if there is one available. If the article is from a news website that does not have an associated newspaper, use the format for a webpage on a news website instead of the format for an article (ex. HuffPost).

Example with an associated newspaper

Kalb, L. (2016, September 21). Interim UCD Chancellor urges civility in dialogue. Sacramento Bee, p. 3A.

Example without an associated newspaper

Author(s) Last Name(s), Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of News Source. http://URL

de León, C. (2020, January 13). The 10 most checked-out books in N.Y. Public Library history. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/01/13/books/ny-public-library-top-books-history.html


Article in a Print Magazine

Examples

Deresiewicz, W. (2015, January-February). The death of the artist and the birth of the creative entrepreneur. The Atlantic, 315(1), 92-97.

Taibbi, M. (2016, September 22). How Trump lost his mojo. Rolling Stone, (1270), 46-52.


Magazine Article in a Database

If a DOI has been assigned, include it in the reference.

If no DOI has been assigned to the content and you are accessing the source from a database (e.g. a library database), cite the source as though it were in print.

Examples

Powell, B. (2016, July 15). Can Europe save itself? Newsweek Global, 167(2), pp. 12-16.

Young, K. (2019, October 18). Health care debates. CQ Researcher, 29(37), 1-58.


Magazine Article on a Website

If a DOI has been assigned, include it in the reference. If no DOI has been assigned to the content, include the URL for the website where the article was retrieved.

Examples

Schaefer, N. K., & Shapiro, B. (2019, September 6). New middle chapter in the story of human evolution. Science, 365(6457), 981–982. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.aay3550

Deresiewcz, W. (2014, December 28). The death of the artist - and the birth of the creative entrepreneur. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2015/01/the-death-of-the-artist-and-the-birth-of-the-creative-entrepreneur/383497/