Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Style Guide, 7th ed.

This guide provides tips and examples for APA style formatting of papers and citations.

Entries and Chapters

Entry in a Print Encyclopedia

When the entry has an associated author, start the citation with the author's name - last name first. If no author is listed, start your citation with the title of the entry.

Examples

Carroll, M. P. (1996). Myth. In D. Levinson & M. Ember (Eds.), Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology (Vol. 3, pp. 827-831). Henry Holt and Company.

Balfour declaration. (2013). In C. Glasse (Ed.), The new encyclopedia of Islam (4th ed., pp. 82-86). Rowman & Littlefield.


Entry in an Ebook Encyclopedia

When the entry has an associated author, start the citation with the author's name - last name first. If no author or editor is listed, start the citation with the name of the article.

Examples

Ward, S. (2005). A-line dress. In V. Steele (Ed.) In Encyclopedia of clothing and fashion, (Vol. 1, pp. 35-36). Retrieved from https://www.gale.com/*

Alice Paul: American suffragist. (2018). In Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved from www.britannica.com/biography/Alice-Paul

*Note: If no DOI has been assigned to the content and you are accessing the source from a private database (e.g. a library database), it is not necessary to include the database in the citation or the password protected URL. You can include the URL of the publisher, but you may need to do a quick web search to locate it. This is reflected in​ the first example above. (Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, pp. 191-192)


Chapter or Essay in an Edited Book

When the entry has an associated author, start the citation with the author's name - last name first. If no author is listed, start your citation with the title of the entry.

Examples

Facts about factory farming. (2015). In L.S. Scherer (Ed.), Factory farming (pp. 106-109). Farmington Hill, MI: Greenhaven Press.

London, Jack. (1993). The enemy of all the world. In E. Labor (Ed.), The complete short stories of Jack London (pp. 1247-50). Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.


Entry in the DSM-V

The following is an example of an entry from the Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. This example follows the rules for reference an entry in an encyclopedia or other reference work.

Example

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Central sleep apnea. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed., pp. 383-386). American Psychiatric Association. https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596